Options

A new MerCruiser rocker/oil problem, and a related question:

13»

Comments

• Options
    IanIan Member Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭✭
    “Your service manager said”  and “”the marina is the largest in the area” tell me you are not looking at this logically. This guy has a vested interest in you believing him because someone is going to pay to fix it - by your closing comment - you.

Did YOU actually see the oil at the rockers with covers off? How do you know? I am no mechanic but I’d be asking to see the proof also, I can see oil there without being a mechanic.

Because he’s the biggest, he’s not necessarily the best - and often biggest is far from best. If they are the biggest, go to the next guy down with Merc trained techs.

Seems you are looking for someone here to give you the answer you want to hear....

Regards,

Ian

The Third “B”

Secretary, Ravena Coeymans Yacht Club

https://www.rcyachtclub.com/

• Options
    F1100F1100 Member Posts: 292 ✭✭✭
    I cant see this being a fuel issue. I agree it looks like a oiling issue cause those rockers are blued up from heat. Or the valve train is messed up. Again.. pull the heads and have a look to see whats wrong. I would also do a leak down on the engine first as well. To see if the non oiling damage was only top related or is in the lower block as well. You could pull the Cam as well, and check the lobes for scarring and blueing as well. And 100% check the push rods. Super easy to do.
    1993 300 FIESTA VEE TWIN 5.7L ALPHA GEN 2
  • Options
    F1100F1100 Member Posts: 292 ✭✭✭
    And pull the plugs and see how they are looking.. mark each one..so you know what each cylinder is doing. Thats the easiest thing to do , along with pulling the push rods.
    1993 300 FIESTA VEE TWIN 5.7L ALPHA GEN 2
  • Options
    JodijoeJodijoe Member Posts: 56
    icoultha said: