Options

If not a spun hub, then what?

So, as you know, I'm still learning about all this boat stuff. I haven't picked your brains for a while but I definitely need some advice now.
I have high revs but low speed. Researching this ,I figured it's a spun hub. OK, cheap enough and easy to replace. 
But now I've read that the Bravo 3 has no hub, so what is damaged? I can see this being expensive 😳

Comments

• Options
    PickleRickPickleRick Member Posts: 3,894 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hopefully it's your shift cable isn't fully engaged but it could be time for a tear down as the clutch cone is worn/slipping 
  • Options
    SEI now has bravo 3 upper and lowers, not sure of their quality.  The alpha they offer has good reviews....for an alpha.   The pricing is good vs Merc. Might be worth looking at if you determine it's an internal issue and not a shift cable issue 
  • Options
    aero3113aero3113 Member Posts: 8,835 ✭✭✭✭✭
    It could be your engine coupler.
    2008 330EC
  • Options
    Ouch if it's a coupler.  I am pretty sure I can see the rubber bushing on mine by sticking a cell cellphone back there but on a V8 that's going to be hard.  And if the splines themselves are gone you'll have to pull the drive to inspect. 

• Options
    If you can reach, put a paint stripe on the housing and rubber part of the coupling. Run the engine and put it in gear then back to neutral then shut off. Check if the paint mark is still aligned.
    2008 330EC
  • Options
    YYZRCYYZRC Member Posts: 4,931 ✭✭✭✭✭
    What pitch are the props?
    2008 350 EC on Georgian Bay
  • Options
    Yea, I guess we should’ve asked what revs and speed you’re getting…?
    2008 330EC
  • Options
    captkevincaptkevin Member Posts: 213 ✭✭
    Knowing exactly what you are getting for low speed / high revs would be helpful
    2004 232
    2021 Yamaha Fx svho
  • Options
    They wanna know if your hull below the water line looks like a chia pet or has more barnacle than the flying Dutchman 
  • Options