Options

engine alignment

rasburyrasbury Member Posts: 8,242 ✭✭✭✭✭
This is a bit of a mystery to me. When I did my gimbal bearing along with bellows and such. I could not get the outdrive back on. So my buddy comes over and say you have to align the bearing a bit. So, with the merc tool, worked it a bit, used a rubber mallet a bit and worked the tool into the coupler. So after putting my mother back in at the end of the day I grabbed the tool and pushed it in- turned it a bit but got it in without a lot of trouble...I'm going to grease it am so I can see the spline impression on the tool- what is an acceptable range of inserting tho tool?

Comments

• Options
    Dream_InnDream_Inn Member, Moderator Posts: 7,561 mod
    Tool should slide in/out using only two fingers.  If it's tighter than that, you need to make adjustments.  (I know, not what you want to hear)

Dream 'Inn III -- 2008 400 Express

• Options
    Liberty44140Liberty44140 Member Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Agree with dream, I’ve always been told the same. Last spring my mechanics spent a lot of time dialing in alignment. They tested the tool at 12 0clock, then 3, 6 and 9 to make sure it was aligned all the way around, they turned it a quarter of the way by bumping the starter with the key 
    07' Cruisers 390 (Previous Rinker's: 06' 342EC & 01' 310FV)

• Options
    Michael TMichael T Member Posts: 7,227 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Done this many times. Two fingers lightly to push in or pull out (no pun intended) rotating is a good idea, particularly important on a new purchase to check factory install and for the next couple of years to allow for "settling" such as normal stringer deflection etc. 
  • Options
    reneechris14reneechris14 Member Posts: 3,134 ✭✭✭✭✭