Were talking canals here

randy56randy56 Member Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭✭✭
Over the next week or so I'm going to be posting a lot about canals and waterways. Thought it will be to much to just add to Will's pic of the day. You may get tired of reading but I'll include lot's of pic's. I know it's winter, what else you got to do.

First we are going to talk about Cape Coral FL which is a fairly new city. as you will learn. hang tight I'm just getting started.

Cape Coral, Florida,  is a city located on the north bank of the Caloosahatchee River across from Fort Myers.
Cape Coral Florida Aerial View

The city had its beginning in 1957 on a tract of land known as Redfish Point.

Real estate developers and brothers Leonard and Jack Rosen bought the land for $678,000 and began developing it as a planned community.

A distinctive feature of Cape Coral is its canal system.  The city has more than 400 miles of canals, more than any other city in the world.  It has the unofficial slogan of "Waterfront Wonderland".

Cape Coral Canal
Cape Coral Canal

Boating and fishing are a way of life for many Cape Coral residents and visitors.  Most of the canals are navigable, and a large percentage of Cape Coral homes have boats in their back yards.  One of the largest marinas in Florida is located between Cape Coral and **** Gorda on Burnt Store Road.

There are also several golf courses in Cape Coral and Fort Myers for those that want to supplement their boating lives.  Cape Coral is also the entry point to Pine Island by way of the fishing and artistic community of Matlacha.

Cape Coral Yacht BasinCape Coral Yacht Basin

Cape Coral is connected to Fort Myers and other areas south of the Caloosahatchee River by several bridges, most of them built since the development of the city.